Organization Current Page Organization

Hochschulrat, left to right.: K. Rufer, SO; S. Echsel, GL; R. Schroeder, TG; Dr. phil. A. Schubert, AR; N. Senn, AI; Dr. S. Brändli, Präsident, ZH, S. Pauli, SG; R. Hauser, SH; P. Dietiker, ZH; J. Müller, ZG; J. Flury, GR. Nicht vertr. AG, OW, SZ, FL.


The HfH is sponsored by the cantons of Aargau, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Glarus, Graubünden, Obwalden, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Zurich, Zug and the Principality of Liechtenstein. Additionally the university has separate agreements with the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Bern, Fribourg, Lucerne, Uri and Vaud.

The HfH's highest governing body is a council, that comprises representatives of the sponsoring cantons and the Principality of Liechtenstein. The Executive Board of the HfH consists of the rector, the five thematic institutes directors and the director of the central services team.


  • Institute for Special Learning Needs
  • Institute for Educational Support for Behaviour, Social-Emotional, and Psychomotor Development
  • Institute forDisabilities and Participation
  • Institute for Language and Communication Special Needs
  • Institute for Professionalization and System Development


Founded in 1924 as the Zurich Training College for Teachers in Special Needs; transformed into the University of Applied Sciences in Special Needs Education in 2001
Rector Prof. Dr. Barbara Fäh
Employees 170
Sponsored by 13 Swiss cantons and the Principality of Liechtenstein
President of the Board of Governors Prof. Dr. Dorothea Christ, Director of the Office of Universities of the Canton of Zurich
Programmes Bachelor's and Master's programmes, Certificate/Master of Advanced Studies (CAS/MAS), continuing education, research and development and services
Site Map Contacts and Site Plan


Tel: +41 44 317 11 11